What’s Your Sentence?

Our class assignment this week was based on Daniel Pink’s challenge to “write your sentence,” inspired by Clare Booth Luce’s question to John F. Kennedy – what’s your sentence?  She was challenging him to focus his vision, something we school administrators are charged to do all the time.

I have been thinking about this question in the context of other reading from Michael Fullan this week about becoming an agent of change, and a challenge from my Superintendent to consider “what gets you up in the morning.”  My answer,  as always – since my first year of teaching – has been the same.  I believe in public education as an important tool in the pursuit of equity, and I believe that it is my role as a leader to ensure that all students get the opportunities to become whatever they want to become.  It is that moral imperative that drives my actions and decisions at all levels.

I somehow overlooked this assignment on my class home page, and thus lived in real time my anxiety dream that I’ve had since college – I am unprepared for something that I know I can do, but somehow, honestly, have overlooked it.  Yikes.  At the last minute I thought to enlist the help of some of my students, and they, always the hams, eagerly stepped in.  The students liked my sentence but thought that it didn’t convey my “essence,” so they added a sentence of their own on the end.  Made my day, for sure.

About Katy Foster

I am an Assistant Principal in Larkspur, CA. I blog to publicly reflect on my own learning in leadership.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Your Sentence?

  1. Brishundra says:

    Hi! I love your sentence and the video.

Leave a Reply

