Learning by Blogging

In trying to work on a blog that I thought eventually someone might want to follow, I thought about blogs that I like to read. As I surfed around I realized that blogs I like to read have several things in common. First, they are not didactic – they invite open thought and conversation about myriad topics. Second, they have links to more information about a particular topic, or to videos or websites that have prompted the post. And third, the blogs that I am drawn to seem to have a similar aesthetic – they tend to be pretty plain in their layout, with easy-to-read fonts and clean backgrounds. This doesn’t hold true for all the pages I like, but it does for most of them.

One education blog I am reading these days is the Principal of Change by George Couros, a K-12 principal in Alberta, Canada, a runner up for an Edublog Award in the School Administrator category. His posts are student centered, and I have found links and resources through his page that I have been excited to share with colleagues.  Here is one video I found inspirational, a poem by Kirk Nugent called “Pursue Your Passion.”

Bridging Differences is a conversational blog on Ed Week between Diane Ravitch and Deborah Meier, two school reformers who have differing opinions about the path of school reform, and write back and forth to each other about education trends and reforms.  It keeps me up to date on education news while allowing me to see differing perspectives.

Of course, I will be reading my professor’s blog, Techstanding, which is a good example of a teacher learning with her students. Dr. Evangeline Pianfetti will be blogging along with us as we students hone our skills and learn from each other.

I read non-education related blogs as well, mostly news and political stuff, and one of my passions, food and cooking.  Here I will shamelessly promote my cousin’s blog, Flavorista.  She and her partner, both chefs and both parents, post easy, delicious recipes in such categories as Meatless Mondays and Kid’s Favorites.  Perfect for a working parent.

When I find a good blog, I see the value in not only learning from another person, but in creating a community of people learning together.  For example, George Couros, the author of Principal of Change, recently wrote about co-presenting with a friend he had met through blogging (Couros also created Connected Principals, a social and professional networking site for school administrators.)  The two have never met in person, but connected professionally and personally through an exchange of ideas.  I look forward to learning blogging, and using this tool to gain and share knowledge as I become a “connected principal.”

About Katy Foster

I am an Assistant Principal in Larkspur, CA. I blog to publicly reflect on my own learning in leadership.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learning by Blogging

  1. h Vujovich says:

    Well done Katy!! You’ve grabbed the blogging tiger by the tail, my EPSY 452 colleague. I have yet to figure out how to load a personal photo to my blog banner and this is my fifth CTER course! Thank you for sharing and for the extra score on Flavorista – I am a major Foodie follower!! See you in class…h

    • Thanks. How’re things in Quatar? Are you still there? I imagine a little heated. I an incredibly interested in the turns of events, and in particular what role Facebook and Twitter have played. I was listening to the radio and the news reported that a Nile TV reporter had resigned based on the Twitter feeds the station was following. Amazing, scary stuff.

  2. Pingback: Public Reflection is Leadership | Leadership for Learning

Leave a Reply

